Sometimes friends, colleagues or students ask me about my recommendations when visiting London. I have finally decided to create my own map and guide with the places I feel may be worth visiting. It might be too comprehensive, but I wanted to accommodate both those visiting London for the first time as well as those who have been there before and might be looking for places off the beaten track.

As you will see, the map contains several categories or “layers”: sightseeing; museums and galleries; parks and scenic views; blue plaques, history and Art; cafés and eating out; shopping and markets; instagrammable places (places where you are likely to want to have a picture taken, or popular on Instagram posts); film, TV and theatre; music; and places that children will probably love. 

The video below explains how to use the map, especially if you mean to use it on a mobile device: 

Open the video in a new tab

You may also like: 

(Updated 5.03.2024)